Walter takes in the View
Home FREE Newsletter Blog Forum FAQ Glossary / Dictionary Submissions About this Site

You CAN Ride a Bike
10 Ways to Be Safe
Latest Pictures

Most Popular:
Learn to Ride
10 Ways to Be Safe
Picture Galleries
Salvage Yards
Recalls
Women on Bikes
Seat Heights
Pics of the Week
Latest Pictures
Tattoos
Quizzes
Glossary/Dictionary
User Reviews
Road Tests
7 Things Bikers Know
10 Motorcycle Myths

Motorcycle Books By or About Women Riders

By Walter F. Kern

The following motorcycle books are personally owned by me and written by women motorcyclists. Walter Kern's motorcycle book

Some motorcycle books have also been personally reviewed. Most motorcycle books are available for sale on this site through amazon.com by clicking the title of the book. I don't receive any remuneration from Amazon. I just provide a link to the book.

Bikerlady: Living and Riding Free!: Living & Riding Free! by Sasha Mullins
This is an important book following in the tradition of Pierson's, "The Perfect Vehicle" and Ferrar's, "Hear Me Roar." Over 160 personal stories of women riders are given showing how the motorcycle changed their lives. Paperback
Walter's Review

Dream Rider: Roadmap to an Adventurous Life by Rosemary Carstens
Ms. Carsten was determined to learn to ride a motorcycle even though she was already in her fifty-sixth year. This book traces her life as she gets the motorcycle bug, learns how to ride, gets her first bike, and sets out -- sometimes with friends and eventually alone -- to match wits with the elements on various roadtrips through the western states. Paperback
Walter's Review

Growing Up Harley-Davidson: Memoirs of a Motorcycle Dynasty by Jean Davidson
Jean Davidson is the granddaughter of one of the founders of the Harley-Davidson Motor Company. She has written a book filled with over a hundred family pictures and accompanying descriptions of what it was like to be a Davidson as the Harley-Davidson motorcycle became an American icon. Hardcover
Walter's Review

Hear Me Roar: Women, Motorcycles and the Rapture of the Road, New Ed. by Ann Ferrar
Ann Ferrar traveled 30,000 miles on her Hawk GT 650 to interview hundreds of women riders. She once interviewed my wife, Jane. She tells stories about the women she met and those women who became well known in motorcycling. She also has a great resource section about clubs, safety, gear, parts, manufacturers, etc.

Motorcycle Song by Diane Siebert
I don't run across a lot of children's books about motorcycles. When this book, "Motorcycle Song," was offered to me for review by Harper Collins Publishers, I was pleasantly surprised as soon as I opened it. Hardcover
Walter's Review

The Mouse and the Motorcycle by Beverly Cleary
This is a charming book about a mouse named Ralph who meets a boy named Keith who has a toy motorcycle. Keith teaches Ralph special ways to make the motorcycle run. Ralph learns that fun and trouble go together. Paperback

The Perfect Vehicle: What It is about Motorcycles by Melissa H. Pierson
This book is a scholarly search by a woman to understand why the motorcycle means so much to her. The elements of danger and risk have been present for a hundred years, yet devotees are compelled to ride. You'll enjoy this ride. Hardcover

Rebels With a Cause: We Ride the Harley by Gail DeMarco and R.W. "Reg" Kittrelle
This large book contains stories by Harley-Davidson owners including the famous such as Mary Hart, Mickey Rourke, Sonny Barger, Arlen Ness and Peter Fonda. Full color pictures and stories from over 60 enthusiastic riders describe the Harley lifestyle. Paperback

Savvy Guide to Motorcycles by Shirley Duglin Kennedy
I have read many books about motorcycles but few good books about the whole subject from the beginner's viewpoint. This is an excellent book. I was quite surprised by it. This is a book by a writer who also is a librarian and a beginning motorcycle rider. The combination results in a refreshing book of wide appeal to the motorcycling community. Paperback
Walter's Review

Women and Motorcycling - The Early Years by Susie Hollern
Read the personal stories of women motorcyclists as they describe their involvement in riding motorcycles. Includes pictures of the women and their bikes.

More about motorcycle books

Click Picture for Walter F. Kern's
Kindle, Paperback, and Audible Books

Google

© 2016 Walter F. Kern. All rights reserved.